Hair Kitchen Tales: Products, Concerns & Mini-Hair Story

image

Are you natural? Are you still looking for the right products for your natural hair? Do you even know what type of hair you have?? Have you been natural for some time now, and are still looking to see the fruits of your labor? Do you even like being natural?

Some of the answers to your questions are probably going to be yes, no, or maybe. And some of you maybe wondering why I’m asking these questions in the first place. I’m asking because I love the topic of natural hair. I myself, have been fully natural for almost a year. 

My answers to the questions:

1. Yes
2. Yes
3. Unfortunately, no. I’m confused on if I have kinky or coily hair.
4. I’m being patient!
5. I’m learning to embrace my naturalness!!

I transitioned for a year (no big chop for me!) and after cutting off the last three inches of my relaxed hair in December 2013, I am now fully natural. The process has definitely been interesting. I think my hair is about 9 inches long when it’s straightened. The natural style that I do the most is Bantu knots and twist outs. I would love to try the flat twist style, but I often mess up so I will need more practice with that. I have been through products such as Cantu, Shea Moisture, and African Pride.

As of right now the products I use are:

1. Aunt Jackie’s In Control conditioner
2. Aunt Jackie’s Knot On My Watch detangler
3. Carol’s Daughter Black Vanilla Sulfate Shampoo
4. Carol’s Daughter Black Vanilla Leave-In Conditioner
5. Carol’s Daughter Hair Milk Styling Butter
6. Carol’s Daughter Hair Milk Styling Foam
7. Motions Naturally You Define My Curls pudding
I will see how these products work for me over the next four months. I have heard great things about Carol’s Daughter products so I thought why not give it a shot?! I wore a weave for three months and unfortunately, because some of my hair was left out, I suffered heat damage (flat-ironed too much). So now two pieces of my hair in the front are wavy, instead of curly. Grrrr! Also, I have decided to not straighten my hair for a whole year! It’s time to fall in love with my hair in its natural state.

Until next time, au revoir!

Wanna Leave GirlElegance a Comment? Leave Comment Here!

